Calculus

Fall 2008
course
navigation

assignments

Prior to assignment 1, you should of read Chapter 0 (A preview of Calculus, pp. 2-10), Sections 1.1, 1,2 and 1.3.
I recommend trying some of the easier practice problems before plunging into the for-credit assignments.
The deadline is 4pm on the given date unless otherwise stated. If you are handing the assignment in outside class time then please put the assignment in the labeled envelope by Room 205 in the Natural Sciences Building.

  due Fri Sep 19

assignment 1

From Stewart's Calculus book, Chapter 1:
  due Fri Sep 26

assignment 2

From Stewart, Chapter 2:
  due Fri Oct 3

assignment 3

From Stewart's, Chapter 2:
  due Fri Oct 10

assignment 4

From Stewart's, Chapter 2:
Please note that in this assignment you are required to use the definition of a derivative involving limits, but not any of the derivative laws used later in Chapter 2.

  due Mon Oct 13

Quiz 1

From Stewart's, book.
Chapter 1 Review Questions (p 74): 6. Chapter 2 Review Questions (p 167): 6, 36.
Please note that in this quiz you are required to use the definition of a derivative involving limits, but not any of the derivative laws used later in Chapter 2.

Challenge question for Quiz 1 (optional, not for credit)

Let y = xx2 give a curve in a graph.
Can you find two points on this curve (a,b) and (c,d) , such that the slope through the point (a,b) , the slope through the point (c,d) , and the x -axis all form an equilateral triangle?
  due Fri Oct 24

assignment 5

From Stewart's Chapter 3:
  due Fri Oct 31

assignment 6

From Stewart's Chapter 3:
  due Fri Nov 7

assignment 7

From Stewart's Chapter 4:
  due Fri Nov 14

assignment 8

From Stewart's Chapter 4:
  due Fri Nov 21

assignment 9

From Stewart's Chapter 4.
  due Mon Nov 24

Quiz 2

From Stewart's, book, Review Sections. Please hand in Quiz 2 by Monday at 4pm. Any Quiz solutions handed in after this time will still be marked, but points will be deducted for lateness.
  due Fri Dec 12

assignment 10

I would prefer the assignment to be handed in on Wednesday 10th Dec to aid in getting grades out promptly.
From Stewart's book,
http://cs.marlboro.edu/ courses/ fall2008/calculus/ special/assignments
last modified Wednesday January 28 2009 2:04 pm EST